Three faculty members in the Cornell Ann S. Bowers College of Computing and Information Science have been named 2023 Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Fellows.

Phoebe Sengers, professor of information science and science and technology studies, Noah Snavely, professor of computer science at Cornell Tech, and Kilian Weinberger, professor of computer science, are among ACM’s 68 newest fellows, which were announced Jan. 24.  

Sengers was recognized for contributions to critically-informed human-computer interaction and design. A scholar in human computer interaction (HCI) and science and technology studies (STS), Sengers’ work integrates ethnographic and historical analysis of the social implications of technology with design methods to suggest alternative future possibilities. At Cornell, she leads the Culturally Embedded Computing research group, is a member of the Cornell Initiative for Digital Agriculture, and is a faculty fellow of the Atkinson Center for Sustainability. Her awards and honors include a Fulbright Fellowship (1998), an NSF CAREER Award (2003), and membership in the SIGCHI Academy (2023), among others.  

Snavely was recognized for contributions to computer vision and computer graphics. His research focuses on 3D reconstruction and understanding of scenes from multiple images. His awards and honors include a Microsoft Research Faculty Fellowship (2011), an NSF CAREER award (2012), a Sloan Research Fellowship (2012), an NSF Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (2013), and the ACM Special Interest Group on Computer Graphics (SIGGRAPH)’s Significant New Researcher Award (2014), among others. His teaching honors include the Cornell College of Engineering Mr. and Mrs. Richard F. Tucker Teaching Excellence Award (2012).

Weinberger was recognized for contributions to machine learning and deep learning. He studies machine learning and its applications, specifically machine learning under resource constraints, in the context of autonomous vehicles, metric learning, and Gaussian Processes. Among his awards and honors are an NSF CAREER award (2012), a finalist for the Blavatnik National Awards (2021), and the Daniel M. Lazar '29 Excellence in Teaching Award. He was named president of the International Machine Learning Society last year. Most recently, Weinberger – along with colleague Claire Cardie, professor of computer science and information science – was elected an Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) fellow for 2024.

Through its fellowship program, ACM – the largest and most prestigious society of computing professionals – recognizes the top 1% of members for their outstanding accomplishments in computing and information technology and/or outstanding service to ACM and the larger computing community.

The trio from Cornell Bowers CIS will be inducted as fellows during the ACM awards banquet in June.

By Louis DiPietro, a writer for the Cornell Ann S. Bowers College of Computing and Information Science.